Fear of Falling by S.L. Jennings

FoF SL Jennings Blog Tour Jacket Cover

Fear of Falling Synopsis
I can’t remember the last time I felt completely safe. Security seemed more like a luxury to me, reserved for those who were fortunate enough to have picture perfect childhoods. For those who didn’t bear the ugly scars that keep me bound in constant, debilitating fear. I’ve run from that fear my entire life. But when I met him, for once, I couldn’t run anymore.
He scared the hell out of me in a way that excited every fibre of my being. It wasn’t the tattoos or the piercings. It wasn’t the warmth that seemed to radiate from his frame and blanket me whenever he was near. It was just…him. The scary beautiful man that threatened to alter 23 years of routine and rituals, and make me face my crippling fear.
My name is Kami and I am constantly afraid. And the thing that scares me the most is the very thing I want.
***Inspired by true events***

Review: 5+ Stars

“He had the eyes of a man that had seen things. Eyes that were soulful and wise, yet vibrant and sultry. Eyes that made me want to run away, yet urged me to stay.”

For Kamilla Duval, those eyes are a warning signal. Kami, who has seen her share of things, must avoid the owner of those eyes, Blaine Jacobs, at all costs.” She has spent her life building walls to protect herself from the horrors that life has constantly confronted her with. If she keeps those walls in tact, she can live in relative safety and manage her fears. She has been careful to let in only people who can understand her and are willing to protect her at all costs, Dominic Trevino and Angel Cassidy. They have all seen their share the dark side of life. Together they have become a family which functions quite well. The problem arises when Kami ‘s well-built defenses come into direct opposition with what her heart tells her she needs – Blaine Jacobs.

Blaine Jacobs is the bartender at the Dive, a local bar. He is a sexy southern boy with chocolate brown eyes, tattoos, piercings, and a smile that is irresistible. His life has been less that picture perfect. But, with the help of his Uncle Mick and his Cousin C.J, he has managed to face his demons and make a drama free life for himself on his own terms. When Kami walks into Dive one night, he is taken aback by his attraction to her. He knows that she is someone who could definitely complicate his world. Even though his mind tells him Kami could very well upset his balanced world, he cannot keep his distance. Blaine knows he should leave her alone but, his instincts tell him he must be the one to help her shed the pain he sees in her eyes.

Fear of Falling is the exquisitely written story of Kami and Blaine. S. Jennings tells their story from dual points of view. With beautifully detailed descriptions and raw emotion, Ms. Jennings communicates the story of these two terribly scarred individuals who take an unavoidable risk and explore their attraction to each other. The unhurried pace and vivid imagery of her writing style only serve to enhance the sultry southern setting of the story. From the very expressive and dramatically understated opening words I was intrigued. As the chapters progressed I was enthralled and unable to put Fear of Falling down until I knew how it ended.

It was my intention to read a few chapters before bed. When I finally turned the last page of Fear of Falling, it was 5:30 a.m. I have not found a book, recently, that has impacted me so forcefully. It literally had me curled in the fetal position and crying as the sun began to peek through my bedroom blinds. Fear of Falling is intensely sensual and emotional It reached into the deepest part of my heart and aroused feelings I did not expect to surface. S. Jennings has given me a precious gift in this story that will always remind me hope and love are the keys to overcoming the shocking and awful moments life will inevitably lay in our paths.

Fear of Falling releases July 18, 2013
Fear Of Falling Goodreads Page http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17254226-fear-of-falling

Author Bio:
Most known for her starring role in a popular sitcom as a child, S.L. Jennings went on to earn her law degree from Harvard at the young age of 16. While studying for the bar exam and recording her debut hit album, she also won the Nobel Prize for her ground breaking invention of calorie-free wine. When she isn’t conquering the seas in her yacht or flying her Gulfstream, she likes to spin elaborate webs of lies and has even documented a few of these said falsehoods.
Some of S.L.’s devious lies:
FEAR OF FALLING- July 18th, 2013
THE DARK LIGHT SERIES
~ Dark Light
~ The Dark Prince
~ Nikolai (Fall 2013)
~ Light Shadows (End of 2013/ Early 2014)

Enter the giveaway here!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

